A Word About Vetted Word

Vetted WordTom Boyle’s Name Dropping with Tom Boyle, by Tom Boyle owes its existence to Vetted Word. Vetted Word is a community of artists coming together to produce live performances of the written word with a corresponding web-based literary digest.  This column was hatched there.

Vetted Word's Olga Rosales

Poet / MC / Founder Olga Rosales

Born in 2009, Vetted Word is the brainchild of Olga Rosales and grew from “7 Minutes in Heaven”, an open mic forum, to “The Vetted Word Showcase”, a monthly production including the finest performers around.

Tavius Dyer

Author Tavius Dyer

I discovered Vetted Word when my camera and I joined author Tavius Dyer in San Francisco to photograph his reading of his book I had recently edited Philosopher Stoned: Recovered. I ended up reading from my novella Rapunzel Meets Santa Claus in Hell and returning to photograph and perform in shows, and edit and contribute to the online zine.

I will be focusing on Vetted Word and Olga Rosales as part of “My DIY Heroes”, a series I’ll be posting shortly, so stay tuned for that.  I will also be including photographs from Vetted Word shows on my Facebook Fan Page.

